Brad Cox this year’s Toyota Star Maker

Riley Riley
Jindabyne’s Brad Cox has taken out the 2018 Toyota Star Maker competition.
He becomes the 39th recipient of Australia’s most prestigious country music talent search.

Brad competed against nine fellow country music artists:

  • Cassidy Rae Gaiter, Flagstaff Hill SA
  • Emily Joy, Sorrento WA
  • Hayley Wilson, Aspley, Qld
  • Heath Milner, Mackay Qld
  • Jake Sinclair, Springhurst Vic
  • Tammy Moxon, Hermit Park Qld
  • Tanya Cornish, Tintinara SA
  • Taylor Pfeiffer, Walkerville SA
  • Chloe Styler, Gold Coast Qld


For the second time in the history of the competition, the event was held in Tamworth’s Bicentennial Park.
Not only was the event free allowing thousands of fans to be a part of the historic announcement, it was accessible to a worldwide audience through live-streaming.

Husband and wife duo, Adam Eckersley and Toyota ambassador Brooke McClymont, surprised the crowd performing their new single Trainwreck, from their upcoming debut album, set for release in February.

This year’s winner Brad Cox was inspired to pursue his country music career after a month-long song-writing trip to Nashville in 2015.

He recorded his debut album of which his first single, Too Drunk to Drive, debuted at #2 on the iTunes country chart.

Loyal country fans were entertained by the finalists and last year’s winner Rachael Fahim, and Darren Coggan, who was also the compere for the night.

Star Maker co-ordinator, Cheryl Byrnes said Toyota Star Maker continues to unearth exciting new talent.

The victory sees Brad Cox take home a prize pack including a brand new Toyota RAV4 for 12 months with an unlimited fuel card, Maton, Fender and Jands products, guaranteed performances at major festivals throughout Australia including at West Tamworth League Club and The Pub Group plus a return trip to Nashville in June for the annual CMAs courtesy of Chris Watson Travel and more.

Previous winners include Lee Kernaghan, Keith Urban, Beccy Cole, James Blundell, Darren Coggan, Travis Collins, Kylie Sackley, Samantha McClymont, Kirsty Lee Akers, Kaylee Bell and many others.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *