Zarco and Dovizioso exchange words.

Quartararo takes lead after Catalan crash

FABIO Quartararo has regained control of the 2020 MotoGP World Championship standings with a convincing third victory in the Catalunya MotoGP.

Andrea Dovizioso’s race ended on the opening lap — for the second successive year.

After a few wobbly races since his double win in Jerez, Quartararo produced a flawless performance to pick off fellow Yamaha riders Valentino Rossi and Franco Morbidelli before sprinting clear.

The Frenchman’s joy was compounded further by a disastrous end to a dismal weekend for erstwhile MotoGP leader Dovizioso after he and Johann Zarco were hit by Danilo Petrucci at Turn 2. 

Off the line Morbidelli had a great start from his maiden pole position, completing the long run down to Turn 1 comfortably ahead of Jack Miller, Quartararo and Rossi.

Then Rossi moved up to second on Quartararo with a pass into Turn 5.

From there the Yamahas began to assert their control, pulling away from Miller and Mir.

Quartararo next got by Rossi again on lap four before nosing ahead of his Petronas SRT Yamaha teammate Morbidelli three laps later.

Over they go . . . Zarco and Dovizioso crash out.


With Rossi dropping off the back of the pair, it appeared victory would come down to a straight fight between the PSRT pair — only Morbidelli got it all wrong under braking into Turn 1 on lap 15.

 That dropped him to third and out of the fight for the lead, although he did briefly regain second at the expense of Rossi, who slid out at Turn 2 just 9 laps from the end.

Then both Pol Espargaro and Miguel Oliveira suffered the same fate at the same turn.

That let Quartararo to cruise home for his third win of the year.

Behind him, the fight for second ramped up with Morbidelli coming under attack from Suzuki as both Mir and Alex Rins — up from 13th on the grid — came on strong in the latter laps. 

They pulled off passes on the penultimate lap to grab second and third for Suzuki’s first double podium since its return to MotoGP action in 2015.

Maverick Vinales, meanwhile, had a drop in pace from fifth to 15th, but he  eventually recovered to finish ninth.

Ahead of him, Miller held on for fifth from a charging Pecco Bagnaia, while Takaaki Nakagami kept Honda’s points ticking over with a run to seventh.

Petrucci came in eighth position, ahead of Vinales and Cal Crutchlow, who landed his first top 10 finish of the year.


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 164.3 40’33.176
2 20 36 Joan MIR SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 164.2 +0.928
3 16 42 Alex RINS SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 164.1 +1.898
4 13 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 164.1 +2.846
5 11 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 164.0 +3.391
6 10 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 164.0 +3.518
7 9 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 164.0 +3.671
8 8 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 163.8 +6.117
9 7 12 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 163.3 +13.607
10 6 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 163.3 +14.483
11 5 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 163.2 +14.927
12 4 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 163.2 +15.647
13 3 73 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 163.1 +17.327
14 2 27 Iker LECUONA SPA Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 162.4 +27.066
15 1 53 Tito RABAT SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 162.4 +27.282
16 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 162.3 +28.736
17 6 Stefan BRADL GER Repsol Honda Team Honda 162.1 +32.643
Not Classified
88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 163.9 6 Laps
46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 165.0 9 Laps
44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 164.1 12 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
5 Johann ZARCO FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0 Lap
4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 0 Lap

CHECKOUT: Lucky Vinales on a roll

CHECKOUT: 210km/h step-off after brake failure

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *