Trevan Ford Golden Jubilee 50-lap Super Sedan feature race winner Matt Pascoe celebrates his victory. Also pictured is track announcer Mark Stanger. Photo: Tony Powell.

Pascoe the pacesetter in thriller

MAIN event winner Matt Pascoe and runner-up Wayne Randall were stars of the Golden Jubilee 50 lap Super Sedan feature race on Saturday night.

Both turned on a superb display of driving as they headed third placegetter Sean Black to the chequered flag at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway.

Pascoe was clearly the pacesetter and it was little surprise he clocked the fastest time of the race when he put down a 14.376 second lap for a speed of 100.167 km/h.

Randall led away after starting on pole position.

First hard luck story of the race was Darren Kane who withdrew after only two laps with a steering failure.

Ian Brims was the quick mover at the drop of the green flag. After starting out of position five, he secured second spot with only two laps completed.

A yellow light occurred with 36 laps remaining while debris was cleared from the track.

Randall resumed his position at the head of the field after the restart.

David Musch spun to the infield soon after and took no further part in the race after 22 laps.

As the race continued, Sean Black consolidated his third position as Ian Brims dropped back to fourth.

But while all this was happening Pascoe began to challenge for the lead in hot pursuit of Randall.

It was a lapped car that ultimately played a role as the laps wound down.

With only four remaining, Randall attempted to pass a slower vehicle and went to the outside, while Pascoe chose the low line and blasted into the lead.

The two front runners were in close company as they reached the chequered flag in an impressive performance, while Black was a distant third.

The top 10 was rounded out by Ian Brims, Justin Randall, Tania Smith, Ed Doherty, Bob McCosker, Tony Brinkmann and Rodney Craft.

Super Sedan heats were won by Mark O’Brien, Smith, Black and Wayne Randall.

The top eight point scorers for the main event draw from the heats were Wayne Randall (72 points), Pascoe (68), Black (64), Kane 64, Gaven Northfield 64, Justin Randall 64, Mark O’Brien (60), and Ian Brims (56).

Other main event winners were: Cody Maroske (Compact Speedcars), Josh Boyd (Junior Sedans), Nathan Deuchar (National Four Cylinder Sedans), Matthew Layton (Production Sedans), Brock Armstrong (Street Stocks) and Ben Hull (Wingless Sprints).

CHECKOUT: At 70 this racer still Brims with confidence

CHECKOUT: Mazda sets Daytona lap record

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *