Winners are grinners . . . Portugal's Miguel Oliveira.

Hometown win for Oliveira in MotoGP finale

PORTUGUESE rider Miguel Oliveira did himself and his country proud with a runaway win in the end of season MotoGP on the undulating rollercoaster circuit at Portimao, on the south coast of Portugal.

It was his second win of the season in the premier class, and he started from pole, and  led all 25 laps of the 4.7km circuit, finishing more than three seconds ahead of Australia’s Jack Miller. 

Oliveira, who had never before led a single lap in MotoGP, had a faultless run on his Tech3 KTM and was never even challenged.

Behind him, however, Yamaha’s Franco Morbidelli and Miller had a near-repeat of their previous battle, but this time Miller managed to sneak through on his Pramac Ducati, which gave Ducati its first constructors’ championship since 2007. 

Joan Mir, who had already secured the 2020 MotoGP championship, had an awful day on his Suzuki, colliding with Francesco Bagnaia’s Ducati and then retiring his Suzuki with an electrical problem on lap 16 — while teammate Alex Rins dropped down the order to finish 15th after starting from 10th.

Rins also made contact with Johann Zarco’s Avintia Ducati and KTM’s Brad Binder retired early after a crash – but he still finished the season as rookie of the year.

As well, and despite being pipped to second spot by Jack Miller, Franco Morbidelli still finished as runner-up in the championship on his 2019-spec Petronas SRT Yamaha.

Pol Espargaro took his KTM into fourth spot, with  Takaaki Nakagami close behind on the Honda.

Next came Andrea Dovizioso who started from 12th on the grid and came out on top of a race-long battle with a quartet of other riders to claim sixth, ahead of Honda’s Stefan Bradl, Aleix Espargaro on the Aprilia and the Honda of Alex Marquez.

Johann Zarco completed the top 10 despite  his early contact with Mir, with Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi 11th and 12th on their Yamahas.

Cal Crutchlow qualified fourth on his Honda, but sank to 13th, ahead of a struggling Fabio Quartararo on the Yamaha M1 and Suzuki’s Alex Rins.

Danilo Petrucci missed the points on his final Ducati outing, as did Tech3 stand-in Mika Kallio and Avintia’s Tito Rabat.


Qualifying was a lot closer than  the actual race, with less than a second between Oliveira and Aleix Espargaro, back in 14th place.

And so ended a thrilling 2020 MotoGP season, which had no fewer than nine different winners: Fabio Quartararo, Brad Binder, Andrea Dovizioso, Franco Morbidelli, Maverick Vinales, Danilo Petrucci, Alex Rins and Joan Mir.

 It was a big pity being that the COVID bug prevented spectators and Oliveira’s countless fans from seeing his dominant performance.

But his family was there.

“It’s unreal,” the 25-year-old said.

“You dream about these kinds of races and to finally be able to do it, it’s incredible. I have no words to describe it . . . just my gratitude to all the people . . .  and my team.”

Next year he will replace Pol Espargaro in the KTM factory team, riding with new teammate Brad Binder.


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 164.7 41’48.163
2 20 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 164.5 +3.193
3 16 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 164.5 +3.298
4 13 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 163.9 +12.626
5 11 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 163.9 +13.318
6 10 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 163.7 +15.578
7 9 6 Stefan BRADL GER Repsol Honda Team Honda 163.7 +15.738
8 8 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 163.7 +16.034
9 7 73 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 163.5 +18.325
10 6 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 163.5 +18.596
11 5 12 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 163.5 +18.685
12 4 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 163.5 +18.946
13 3 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 163.5 +19.159
14 2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 163.1 +24.376
15 1 42 Alex RINS SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 162.9 +27.776
16 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 162.5 +34.266
17 82 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 161.6 +48.410
18 53 Tito RABAT SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 161.6 +48.411
Not Classified
32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 162.6 3 Laps
36 Joan MIR SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 161.3 10 Laps
33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 157.4 23 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 0 Lap

CHECKOUT: Mir takes MotoGP crown at Valencia 

CHECKOUT: Spanish flyer for Suzuki at Valencia

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *