Two spots still up for grabs in W Series

Riley Riley

Six new drivers have been selected to race alongside the 12 drivers who automatically qualified for the 2020 W Series championship.

W Series was publicly launched on 10 October 2018 in response to the lack of female drivers progressing to the highest levels of motorsport, particularly Formula 1.

It features mechanically identical cars based on the recently launched Tatuus T-318, homologated by the FIA for use in Formula 3 in Formula Regional European Championship, powered by Autotecnica Motori-tuned Alfa Romeo 1.8-litre turbocharged engines, and equipped with a halo cockpit safety device.

The new drivers were selected after three days of track testing at Almeria in southern Spain, with a rigorous lap-time assessment and data-analysis program.

Racing director Dave Ryan said he was generally impressed by the 14 drivers whom we tested and appraised at Almeria last month.

“Making our selection was correspondingly difficult. But we’ve crunched all the data to the best of our ability, and I’m therefore confident that the 18 drivers whom we’ve selected so far represent an excellent line-up,” he said.

“But we’ve left two spaces available, to allow us a little more time to select the final two drivers who, together with the 18 drivers we’ve already selected, will make up the 20 drivers who’ll contest the 2020 W Series championship.

All the stars of the 2019 season will race again, including Jamie [Chadwick], who’ll be defending her crown, as well as Beitske [Visser], Alice [Powell], Marta [Garcia] and Emma [Kimilainen], who all won races with us last year.

“But some of the new drivers on our 2020 entry list are clearly very good too. I’m consequently hoping our 2020 season will be even better than our 2019 season,” he said.

Here’s a list of the 18 drivers who have been  confirmed for the 2020 W Series championship.

Name Country Age Record
Jamie Chadwick GBR 21 1st in 2019 Series
Beitske Visser NLD 24 2nd in 2019 Series
Alice Powell GBR 26 3rd in 2019 Series
Marta Garcia ESP 19 4th in 2019 Series
Emma Kimilainen FIN 30 5th in 2019 Series
Fabienne Wohlwend LIE 21 6th in 2019 Series
Miki Koyama JPN 21 7th in 2019 Series
Sarah Moore GBR 25 8th in 2019 Series
Vicky Piria ITA 25 9th in 2019 Series
Tasmin Pepper RSA 29 10th in 2019 Series
Jessica Hawkins GBR 24 11th in 2019 Series
Sabre Cook USA 24 12th in 2019 Series
Ayla Agren NOR 25 new entrant
Abbie Eaton GBR 27 new entrant
Belen Garcia ESP 20 new entrant
Nerea Marti ESP 17 new entrant
Irina Sidorkova RUS 16 new entrant
Bruna Tomaselli BRA 21 new entrant
New Entrants (L-R) Belen Garcia, Nerea Marti, Bruna Tomaselli, Abbie Eaton, Ayla Agren and Irina Sidorkova.

CHECKOUT: Formula W attracts three Aussie girls

CHECKOUT: Girl power comes to motor sport

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *