Six new drivers have been selected to race alongside the 12 drivers who automatically qualified for the 2020 W Series championship.

W Series was publicly launched on 10 October 2018 in response to the lack of female drivers progressing to the highest levels of motorsport, particularly Formula 1.

It features mechanically identical cars based on the recently launched Tatuus T-318, homologated by the FIA for use in Formula 3 in Formula Regional European Championship, powered by Autotecnica Motori-tuned Alfa Romeo 1.8-litre turbocharged engines, and equipped with a halo cockpit safety device.

The new drivers were selected after three days of track testing at Almeria in southern Spain, with a rigorous lap-time assessment and data-analysis program.

Racing director Dave Ryan said he was generally impressed by the 14 drivers whom we tested and appraised at Almeria last month.

“Making our selection was correspondingly difficult. But we’ve crunched all the data to the best of our ability, and I’m therefore confident that the 18 drivers whom we’ve selected so far represent an excellent line-up,” he said.

“But we’ve left two spaces available, to allow us a little more time to select the final two drivers who, together with the 18 drivers we’ve already selected, will make up the 20 drivers who’ll contest the 2020 W Series championship.

All the stars of the 2019 season will race again, including Jamie [Chadwick], who’ll be defending her crown, as well as Beitske [Visser], Alice [Powell], Marta [Garcia] and Emma [Kimilainen], who all won races with us last year.

“But some of the new drivers on our 2020 entry list are clearly very good too. I’m consequently hoping our 2020 season will be even better than our 2019 season,” he said.

Here’s a list of the 18 drivers who have been  confirmed for the 2020 W Series championship.

Jamie ChadwickGBR211st in 2019 Series
Beitske VisserNLD242nd in 2019 Series
Alice PowellGBR263rd in 2019 Series
Marta GarciaESP194th in 2019 Series
Emma KimilainenFIN305th in 2019 Series
Fabienne WohlwendLIE216th in 2019 Series
Miki KoyamaJPN217th in 2019 Series
Sarah MooreGBR258th in 2019 Series
Vicky PiriaITA259th in 2019 Series
Tasmin PepperRSA2910th in 2019 Series
Jessica HawkinsGBR2411th in 2019 Series
Sabre CookUSA2412th in 2019 Series
Ayla AgrenNOR25new entrant
Abbie EatonGBR27new entrant
Belen GarciaESP20new entrant
Nerea MartiESP17new entrant
Irina SidorkovaRUS16new entrant
Bruna TomaselliBRA21new entrant
New Entrants (L-R) Belen Garcia, Nerea Marti, Bruna Tomaselli, Abbie Eaton, Ayla Agren and Irina Sidorkova.

CHECKOUT: Formula W attracts three Aussie girls

CHECKOUT: Girl power comes to motor sport

Headshot Riley 96x96 - Two spots still up for grabs in W Series


Chris Riley has been a journalist for almost 40 years. He has spent half of his career as a writer, editor and production editor in newspapers, the rest of the time driving and writing about cars both in print and online. His love affair with cars began as a teenager with the purchase of an old VW Beetle, followed by another Beetle and a string of other cars on which he has wasted too much time and money. A self-confessed geek, he’s not afraid to ask the hard questions - at the risk of sounding silly.
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments